BITCO Insurance Companies

OSHA Local/Regional Emphasis Programs

Release Date: December 19, 2008

Local Emphasis Programs (LEPs) are enforcement strategies designed and implemented at the Regional Office and/or Area Office levels. These programs are intended to address hazards or industries that pose a particular risk to workers in the Office's jurisdiction. The emphasis programs may be implemented by a single Area Office or at the Regional level (Regional Emphasis Programs) and applied to all of the Area Offices within the Region. Often times, these LEPs will be accompanied by outreach intended to make employers in the area aware of the program, as well as the hazards that the programs are designed to reduce or eliminate. This outreach may be in the form of informational mailings, training at local tradeshows, or speeches at meetings of industry groups or labor organizations.

A new Regional Emphasis Program (REP) is underway in OSHA's New England Region to minimize employee exposures to crystalline silica hazards associated with commercial and residential construction. The goal of this REP is to help reduce the overall rate of workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities through outreach activities and targeted inspections. Agency REPs address hazards or industries that pose particular risks to employees within an OSHA regional jurisdiction.

The following is a list of Local (Area Office) and Regional Emphasis Programs, separated by Region and noting the office where appropriate. This list may change without notice. A map that provides information on the OSHA Regional and Area offices is available at

Region I (Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont)

Region II (New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, and U.S. Virgin Islands)

Region III (District of Columbia, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia)

Region IV (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee)

Region V (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin)

Region VI (Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas)

Region VII (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska)

Region VIII (Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, and South Dakota)

Region IX (California, Nevada, Arizona, Hawaii, Guam, and American Samoa)

Region X (Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington)

COPYRIGHT ©2009, ISO Services Properties, Inc.

The information contained in this publication was obtained from sources believed to be reliable. ISO Services Properties, Inc., its companies and employees make no guarantee of results and assume no liability in connection with either the information herein contained or the safety suggestions herein made. Moreover, it cannot be assumed that every acceptable safety procedure is contained herein or that abnormal or unusual circumstances may not warrant or require further or additional procedure.

COPYRIGHT ©2009, ISO Services Properties, Inc.